Your SyncSketch project administrators can choose ShotGrid playlists to sync into Reviews in their Projects.
IP Security Note: Workspace administrators can ensure that a given SyncSketch project can only access ShotGrid playlists from a specific ShotGrid project, as well as other access restrictions. See Restricting access below for details.
At the top of the Project Overview, you will find the ShotGrid Sync dialog by clicking on the ShotGrid button in the upper right.
The ShotGrid Sync dialog allows you to browse your ShotGrid playlists. This list will include all playlists active within the last 60 days. Press the Sync buttons for the playlists you want to appear as Reviews in your SyncSketch project. The sync process will display a progress bar for better feedback.
Once a review is synced, it will show up in your SyncSketch Reviews Tab. Reviews which are connected to ShotGrid have the SG button near the middle of the review's header row. The menu that appears will allow you to refresh the playlist items, in case there were recent changes to the Playlist on the ShotGrid side.
SyncSketch will match the ShotGrid playlist's sort ordering if it has been explicitly set in ShotGrid. New ShotGrid playlists may not have ordering set; in this case SyncSketch will sort by the dates when each ShotGrid Version was created in ShotGrid. (Note that this does not equate to when the asset was created.)
You can explicitly set the sort order most easily using ShotGrid's Media view. Reordering the playlist in this view is a drag-and-drop operation. Note: If your reorder using the Sort menu, you will need to use the Save Current as Sort Order menu item at the bottom of the Sort menu (shown below) and then refresh the playlist in SyncSketch.
You can learn more about setting the sort order on the ShotGrid Community site.
You can also reorder items in the SyncSketch review, but the next time sync is refreshed, sort ordering will revert to that of the playlist.
Once you made sure all Versions have been synced, your team can start adding notes in SyncSketch in a synced session or offline.
While in the Review, you can find the familiar ShotGrid button toward the right-hand end of the upper toolbar in the Review Player.
After users have given their notes on SyncSketch, you can push the annotations back to ShotGrid using the same menu. In the SG menu, use the Push new notes to SG option which will start sending the notes to the ShotGrid playlist.
New vs. All and Note Consolidation
When using Push new notes to SG, unsynced changes will be sent back to the corresponding SG playlist. When using Push all notes to SG, all notes will be sent as a new synchronization. The difference between how this appears in ShotGrid will be determined by the Consolidate notes setting.
Confirmation dialog after the Sync.
After the Notes have been synced, they will show up in your ShotGrid interface. You'll find them by opening the media item in the ShotGrid web player in the panel at the right. Notes, replies and attachments appear below the Version Description field, and sketches are aggregated below that.
The exact appearance of the notes depends on whether your ShotGrid config has the Consolidate notes option selected.
If the Consolidate Notes checkbox in your ShotGrid integration configuration is checked, All comments for the version will be synced as a single Shotgun Note. If Consolidate Notes is unchecked, each comment/reply thread will appear as one note for each video frame.
When Consolidate Notes is unchecked, there won't be any meaningful difference in outcome whether you use Push new notes to SG or Push all notes to SG. If Consolidate Notes is checked, everything pushed to ShotGrid will be added as a new Note. Therefore, if you push two comments back to Shotgrid, it will have one Note containing two comments. If you add two more comments in SyncSketch and select Push all notes to SG, you will find an additional note containing all 4 comments; using Push new notes to SG instead will add another note with the 2 new comments.
You can see that the Comments have been added for the frame numbers and the Sketches are attached as frame accurate annotations. The generated note is connected to the Playlist, the Shot and the Version to make sure it's easy to find. If you need to get back to that note in the SyncSketch Review, a link is provided for that as well.
We included a shortened URL back to SyncSketch for quick access of the notes in context.
You can restrict access to intellectual property by linking SyncSketch projects to specific ShotGrid projects. By doing so you can ensure that project admins cannot access media from other ShotGrid projects. In addition, you can specify individuals that can manage the ShotGrid settings.
First, ensure that Link SG Projects is checked in the ShotGrid config in the Workspace Settings Integrations tab:
Next, specify certain users or project administrators who are permitted to manage ShotGrid configurations. Check the box next to Restrict access to and begin typing their emails in the field, selecting each match as is appears in a list below the field.
You can ensure that a SyncSketch project can only have reviews that are synced with ShotGrid playlists in a specific ShotGrid project.
To do so, open the Workspace Settings to the Projects tab. Toward the right-hand end of the Project's row in the list is a ShotGrid Project dropdown:
Select your ShotGrid project, then click on the SyncSketch Project's Name at the left-hand end of the row to open the corresponding SyncSketch Project.
This is the ShotGrid Plugin in a nutshell. If you have any questions or suggestions on how to improve the communication between ShotGrid and SyncSketch, please get in touch.
More information here if you need help troubleshooting your ShotGrid integration.