Roles, Permissions & User Access Management

How do I administer what users can see and do?

When adding new users you can assign them different roles and permissions 


You can invite other users: 

  • to the Workspace (as admins and owners)
    by clicking the 'admin' icon in the workspace view
  • to the Project (as Member, Reviewer, Viewer)
    by clicking the 
    'Users' icon in the project 

Here's the roles in more detail ...  


Workspace Owner
- A Workspace Owner has all administrative privileges in addition to billing permissions
The person who sets up the workspace automatically becomes the workspace owner. In addition to having the permissions of an admin (see below) the owner is responsible for billing and is the only one who has visibility into the payment options and invoicing.
typically: a member of your IT or Accounting/Procurement team

Workspace Admin - A Workspace Administrator can manage users, projects and reviews
The admin is able to fully administer projects, reviews, media, members and their roles within the Workspace or Project.
typically:  Directors, Supervisors, Producers or Instructors/Faculty

Manager - a workspace manager can create projects under a given workspace.  In these projects, he/she will have the same permissions as a 'Project Admin'
typically:  Producers, Coordinators, PMs,  Instructors

Project Admin - can administer everything within a specific projects they have been added to. She/He can manage members/reviews/projects specific settings and integrations.  
typically:  Producers, Coordinators, PMs,  Instructors

Member - create, review, and upload content
These (Team) Members can see all content within the project, and will be able to see all new reviews that are created, create new reviews and upload items. They aren't able to administer other members.
typically: Team members or students

Restricted Member - create, review, and upload content
Restricted Members are like full members but can see only those reviews which they have created, create new reviews and upload items. They aren't able to administer other members.
typically: Team members or students who should only see their own content

Reviewers - users who view and review content in the project 
typically: Trusted Clients

Viewers  - users who can only view content in the project 
typically: Visitors who need read-only permissions

Need a reminder?

In case you need a reminder while adding users, you will be able to click the little question mark next to 'User Access'. This will present a small table showing the permissions each group has