How do real-time Reviews Work?

SyncSketch synchronizes all review sessions across all active users in real-time

Think of it like Google Docs for visual art and videos - everyone who is in the same review/playlist can make synchronized edits, comments, draw - and that even includes time changes when they go to a different frame.

To get a 2min download on how this works - make sure to watch this video.

 

How can I review/teach uninterrupted from other users?

The real-time capability usually leads to a very fluent and collaborative back and forth for a few people who are aware of each other and discussing a single shot - but it can be a little bit odd for many new users and larger groups, particularly if new users are not expecting that their actions influence everyone else's session. 

There are two ways of reviewing/teaching without interruptions from other users: Presenting or Leaving the synchronized Session.

Presenting

If you want a single person to have control (as the instructor in an online school or a director review), that instructor can click on 'Start Presentation' on the upper right-hand corner, and from that point on everyone who will join that folder/review will see what that presenter shows, and cannot disrupt the presentation. 

StartPresenting

Leave the (synchronized) meeting

Conversely, if you DON'T want to be synchronized at all with other users (including the presenter), you just have to click the Leave Sync button in the upper right-hand corner.

You will be able to continue leaving notes on the media file, unless a synchronized session is drawing on the same frame as you are – in which case we will block solo users' actions to avoid conflicting notes.

Note: Notes and sketches that you make while not in a synced review may not be visible to other reviewers until the refresh the page.

LeaveSync

If you wish to re-synchronize with other reviewers in a sync review, click the Join Sync button that replaced Leave Sync. Note that you may need to refresh the page to be sure that you see the annotations created by the other reviewers while you were not in the synced review.