In order to manage seat usage in Enterprise accounts, Workspace owners and administrators can require approval to invite new users into the Workspace.
When this option is enabled, requests to add new workspace users are held in a "Pending" state. The Workspace Owner and Admins are notified that there are pending requests that need review. A workspace admin can then review all pending invite requests, either dismissing them or approving the request.
An email will be sent to the Project Admin that their request to add a user was either approved or denied. Approving a request sends the email invite on to the new user.
Enabling Invite Approvals
The Workspace Owner or Workspace Admin can enable the invite approval requirement in the Workspace Settings under the Usage tab:
After checking the Require Invite Approval box, you will be advised that this will not apply to existing invitations, only to new invitation requests.
If this option is not available, see the FAQ below.
Approving the Requests
When a Project Admin invites a user that is new to the Workspace, they see a banner alert reading "Invite request has been sent for approval" The Workspace's owner and administrators are notified of the pending invite requests in several ways:
- Via email
- When the workspace admins log in they will see a dialog alerting them that there are pending invite requests
- In the Workspace Settings > Users tab, a banner will appear saying that there are pending invites to review:
Each of these will take you to the Pending Invite Requests dialog:
- The number of pending requests
- The name and email of the proposed new Workspace member
- The controls to approve or deny the request for this user
- Indication of the current seat usage (as numbers and as a bar graph)
- A warning, if appropriate, that the available seat count is low with a link allowing you to increase it
In the usage bar graph, active users show as green, invited users as yellow, and open seats as dark grey.
When the workspace admin approves or dismisses a request, an email to this effect is sent to the Project Admin who requested the new user.
When the workspace admin approves a request, an invitation email is sent to the proposed new user. At this point the user is considered to be "invited", but does not yet count against seat usage. Once the user accepts the invitation and joins the workspace, the user becomes "active" and the seats usage is incremented.
Caution: If an invited user accepts the invitation after all available seats have been taken, the user will be presented with an Access Denied screen recommending that they contact the Workspace Owner and request that they add more seats.
Why don't I see the Require Invite Approval option in my Workspace Settings?
This feature is only available to customers with Enterprise accounts. This feature is not available to Enterprise accounts that use "Custom Billing". The Billing tab of the Workspace Settings view will tell you if your account uses Custom Billing. If so, reach out to us at firstname.lastname@example.org and we'll see what we can do to get this feature enabled for you.
Can I use this feature to control security of our intellectual property?
No. This feature is expressly meant to control seat usage.
Why is my seat usage unchanged after I approve the request?
The seat will not be counted against seat usage until the user accepts the invitation and joins the workspace. Consequently, there can be more "invited" users than available seats.
Why don't all invite requests require approval?
If a user is already a member of the Workspace, invitations to join new Projects in the same Workspace will not cause a new seat to be consumed, and therefore need no approval from the Workspace admin.